Green Cream Smoothie Bowl

There’s 2 different sides of me.

There’s the healthy, fitness nerd, #EATCLEAN, “cardio + strength every other day,” side of me.

And there’s the: CHIPS? ICE CREAM? “I’m going to eat another slice and you can’t stop me.”

Fortunately, the latter shows up very rarely, mainly on Friday nights when I’m sick of school.

But nevertheless, I love living a healthy, active lifestyle. I’ll admit, during school I don’t have that much time to work out. I used to do Pilates and Cardio every other day. Now, I try to get running at least 3 times a week.

Love you Cassey! Check her out on Blogilates.com, she’s amazing!

I eat clean 5/7 days of the week. Now what’s eating clean?

Well it’s eliminating all processed foods.

Basically, you try to eat food that’s the closest state it was to the ground. That means, whole wheat bread, white meat chicken, eating natural sugars, rolled oats, etc.

It’s really giving “healthy eating” another label.

Typically, my meal plan looks like this:

1. Breakfast: Vegan Overnight Oats or a Green Smoothie

2. Snack: Banana

3. Lunch: Boiled vegetables with grilled chicken and a hard boiled egg.

4. Snack: Greek yogurt and home-made granola.

5. Dinner: Salad with brown rice, salmon, and more veggies.

Eating like this has been really boring lately. I mean, green smoothies and vegan oatmeal is amazing! But after eating it every single day of the week for multiple weeks on end, it gets super boring and repetitive.

So, to find a solution to my conundrum, I sought the wonderful gods of Pinterest.

So I found the Magical Smoothie Bowl.

Basically, the recipe for each bowl is the same. It consists of a super creamy, thick, smoothie (in a bowl, of course) topped with chia seeds, flax seeds, goji berries, coconut flakes, etc.

It’s delicious.

I had to make one today. So instead of eating granola and yogurt after school, I fixed myself a mean green smoothie bowl.

And let me tell you, it tasted like ice cream.

The toppings go well with the thick and cold texture of the smoothie. it gives a little bite and it lasts way longer than a traditional smoothie. I mean, raise your hand if you drink your smoothies within a minute! (All of you guys should be raising your hands because you know it’s true)

This smoothie is fantastic for a post workout snack, or even breakfast in the morning!

Green Cream Machine Smoothie Bowl

Makes 2 smoothie bowls

Ingredients:

  • Large handful of deep greens (spinach, kale, chard, etc)
  • 1/2 of a Granny Smith Apple
  • 1/2 cups of green grapes
  • Almond Milk, to taste
  • 1 1/2 inches of Silken tofu
  • Chia Seeds
  • Flax Seeds
  • Frozen Greek Yogurt
  • Granola
  • Ice

Directions

  1. Grab out your blender! I recommend having a really powerful blender to cut through the vegetables. You want a smooth texture in your smoothie. I upgraded from my blender in my last green smoothie recipe. I got a NutriBullet, and I’m in love with it. I love that you can take the cups to go, so it’s quick and convenient. (And less clean up for me!)
  2. In your blender, add the leafy greens, IMG_5075   apples,IMG_5077  green gapes, IMG_5080  and tofu.IMG_5082 Generally, the ratio is 2 greens: 1 fruit : 1 fruit : 1 liquid. You might think that adding tofu is weird.  Because it is. In the health world, we’re all just crazy freaks trying to make healthy taste good. Tofu makes this smoothie taste amazing and have an incredible texture. It also adds the extra protein boost for energy! And unlike bananas, it doesn’t add too much carbs. But if you want, you can substitute 1 frozen banana for the tofu. IMG_5091
  3. Pour in the milk. I love using almond milk, but feel free to use Organic Nonfat milk as well. IMG_5089
  4. Now blend away!IMG_5096
  5. After, add in some ice for that extra chill. IMG_5105
  6. Distribute the smoothie into 2 bowls. Put the bowls in the freezer for about 1/2 an hour before adding the toppings.IMG_5107
  7. Then dig in, and enjoy!

IMG_5109

I topped mine with chia seeds, granola, flax meal, and greek yogurt.

Now going back to the beginning of the post, I am like 2 different people – food wise.

On the other hand, Pearl from The Scarlet Letter is like 2 different people.  She is Hester Prynne’s happiness, and her torture.

Woah.

Happiness and torture?

Read more here: A Pairing of Purposes

-Kristie xx

 

2 thoughts on “Green Cream Smoothie Bowl”

Leave a Reply

