Building your Pastry Chef Reputation

Remember how I mentioned that I was absolutely terrible at baking in 8th grade?

It’s been about 3 years since then, and I’ve grown not only physically and mentally, I’ve also grown as a baker.

You see, in those 3 years, I moved from baking cupcakes from a mix to French pastries from scratch.

I also expanded my repertoire into the cooking field as well.

In 8th grade, people were really skeptical when they tried what I made.  I mean, I just started baking then. And I also brought some not-so-good cupcakes to school before I really started delving into the pastry art.

In 9th grade, I had a fresh start. Of course, that summer, I baked my days away. I improved so much. People loved what I made.

But obviously you get those people who are overly critical of you just because you’re only 14 and you don’t own a bakery.

That summer before my sophomore year, I won Best of Show at my county fair for cupcakes.

DSCN9938 DSCN9940

Now this is when people really started to trust that I had a affinity for sweets

And it’s been history since then. I’ve built up my ‘Professional Pastry Chef’ reputation at school.

I even get catering requests sometimes, now.

There are these 3 Greek Words, Ethos, Logos, and Pathos.

These words make up the rhetorical appeals. As a writer, you need them to appeal to your audience.

As a baker, you need them to get people to buy and eat what you make.

Ethos means character in Greek. It judges the credibility of a character.

As a baker, you need to have a lot of credibility. If you’re accident prone and you constantly produce products that are sub-par, people aren’t going to be willing to accept what you bake.

They’re always quick to judge you, before anything.

I learned this the hard way in 8th grade. I just started baking, so naturally I was supposed to make lots of mistakes.

A person gets automatic ethos based on the position that they’re in.

Let’s put it this way. Think of a situation where person gives you 2 identical cupcakes, one from Sprinkle’s Cupcakes, and one that’s homemade.  Although they are both identical, naturally, you say that the one from Sprinkle’s Cupcakes tastes better.

Why?

Well, it’s from Sprinkle’s Cupcakes, duh.

It’s from the first cupcakery in the world.

Sprinkles Cupcakes has a high reputation in the sweets department.

And that homemade cupcake? Well it’s just from home. No reputation there.

I realized this whenever I gave people what I made at school. They’re so quick to judge based on the fact that I’m not a professional pastry chef.

And you know what? There are cupcakes I’ve bought in the real world that’ve won Cupcake Wars.

And in my opinion? Mine are way better.

Sorry to throw shade at Casey’s cupcakes… But they’re not that great

But obviously, people don’t think that.

Logos is reason. You need to have reasoning as a baker. If you’re baking for a wedding and you decide to make devil’s food cake dripped in chocolate that’s a mess to eat…

The bride won’t be very happy.

A wedding is a white affair. A reasonable option would be to make white cupcakes with white chocolate frosting.

Reason also applies in the kitchen. Are you going to defrost your butter in the microwave or are you going to wait for it to naturally come to room temperature? Are you going to mix salt for sugar?

Baking might be second nature, but I use my brain a lot more doing it than I do with math.

Pathos. I love pathos. Pathos is the emotions, values, desires, and hopes that are crucial for a writer’s argument.

For a baker, pathos is the artistic appeal.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a minimalist cupcake.

But a cupcake that’s decked in roses, sprinkles, chocolate drizzle, the like – That cupcake catches my attention way more.

As a baker, you need to have that artistic flair that marks everything you make as your own.

Baking is an art. You need to have some pizzazz in there sometime.

I’ve built a baking persona around myself. I’m Kristie the baker in the kitchen and with my sweets. But I’m just Kristie anywhere else.

And that doesn’t mean I don’t have a reputation for being a baker wherever I go. However, especially when I bake, I put on my baker’s title and I take it very seriously.

I hope you guys have a wonderful week!

It’s the beginning of fall, and I promise I will be rolling out with some recipes soon!

(Think Oatmeal, Spice, Pumpkin, Apples, and Galore)

-Kristie xx

 

Leave a Reply

