RE:Framed: Let It Go!

It’s that time of the school year again…

In case if you don’t know where this fabulous image is from, it’s taken from the cinematic creation called Frozen, the latest hit from Disney Animation Studios.  Now, it’s been awhile since Disney made a truly good musical; you know, the one that wrenches your heart and questions your thoughts about humanity.

I’m not going to give any spoilers, but Frozen is so wonderful that I’ve watched it 3 times, and I’ve cried each time.  It’s an amazing story about sisterly love, subjecting yourself to true love, which is putting someone else’s needs in front of yours, and of course, Princesses and Princes, like any classic Disney film.

“Some people are worth melting for.”

-Olaf

The other great part about Frozen, is the music.  It’s so catchy, and it really brings out the inner Broadway star in me.  My favorite is Do You Want to Build a Snowman?

But the most famous and popular song from Frozen is Let It Go

I admit, although this song isn’t my all-time favorite from Frozen, it just jerks out the inner Broadway star inside of me every time I hear it.  (Which may or may not include running around, flailing my arms, and belting out my tone-deaf voice)

Now, going back to the topic about school, it’s the time of year where I’m feeling like I’m drowning in a pile of expectations, tests, and finals, projects, AP Tests…

Sometimes, I find myself trapped into a shell where I’m stressed to the point that I can’t think about anything else, but school.

But, I’m glad to say I’ve learned how to “Let it Go.”  I’d say it’s a tamer version of YOLO, but it’s among the same concept.  There’s so much more to life than staying up until 2 AM to finish a project, or staying up late to cram in some final math formulas before a test.  Now that I look back at it, it’s time wasted in my opinion.  In all honesty, here’s nothing sadder than looking back at school and realizing that all you’ve done is study and stress out.  I want to enjoy life, not live in a constant state where I’m worrying about the future and what will be.  I’ve stopped thinking,

“Perhaps”

-The Count of Monte Cristo

And I’ve learned to

“Wait and Hope”

-The Count of Monte Cristo

You see, it’s not worth it to spend all your conscious time stressing about college, about the future, about tests, about school.  Why not live in the moment?  Why not live right now?  There’s no way to control the future and what comes your way.

“There are known unknowns, and there are unknown unknowns.”

My English teacher, Mr. Theriault would say.  You’re aware that there are things that might happen in the future and you’re doing all that you can to prepare for it.  But, there are things you don’t know that you don’t know will happen in the future.  You just don’t know.

I just finished reading Looking for Alaska by John Green.  I’ve stopped getting myself trapped in this Labyrinth of Life, I’ve stopped looking for The Great Perhaps.  The Labyrinth of Life is full of twists and turns, places where you get stuck and you don’t know what to do.  I’ll find my way out.  The Great Perhaps is a crazy, roller coaster that I have yet to experience, and when I do experience it, I will.  Why do you live for tomorrow, when all you have right now, essentially is today?

The Count of Monte Cristo, is not a book about revenge, as many might say.  But really, in my opinion, it’s a book about realizing that you can’t control the future or control anyone else’s future.  It’s a book about living.  Dantes, the main character, has gone through 14 years of alleged imprisonment, conspiracy, revenge, death, poison, a broken heart.  The guy has gone through a lot.  When we first meet Dantes, he is a naive youth.  He dreams of having a wonderful family, a bright future.  He is looking for Perhaps, “which is the ultimate word of wisdom.”  But, his bright future is shattered when a couple of conspirators conceive a plan to get him thrown into prison, and they succeed.  Dantes escapes out of prison, but he escapes a changed man.  He is thirsty for revenge, he becomes consumed with the idea that he is God and he has the power to control the lives of people around him.  Dantes really believes that he is Providence.  But, with all that power comes a price.  Dantes, unfortunately, is the ultimate cause of a little, innocent boy’s death, Eduoard.  It is then that he sees that he can’t go on life living to control other people’s lives.  Dantes was in a perpetual state of preparation, and he finally sees that he can’t do that anymore.  He sees that he has to “wait and hope.”  Well, waiting and hoping means that he’s accepted what has come to him, and he’s accepted that all he can do is hope for the best and live. He let go is anger, his fears, his hopes of reconciling with a loved one.   He’s learnt to “Let it Go.”

In English class, over these past couple of days, my teacher has a competitive discussion activity, the Brawl, for my class to partake in.  I’d have to say, I’m a very competitive person, and I was extremely shocked that my argument about this topic was inferior to my opponent.  I was extremely anger, furious even.  I felt like I was robbed of my pride, of my hard work.  I was frustrated to the point of tears because it was so shocking.  After all, my team trusted me to take them to the next round of discussion debates, but I fell short on the first round.  I was angry at my English teacher; I was fuming.  I was angry to the point that I could keep a straight face for 5 minutes, which is a record for me.  I was angry because I felt like I had been cheated of not only a victory, but of my knowledge of the book.  I felt like my teacher looked down on me and thought I wasn’t good enough to win an argument.  But yesterday, my English teacher pulled me aside, and brought me back from the angry, hell-fire place I had been.  I’m not angry at my teacher anymore.  It’s pointless to be angry.  I was holding a useless grudge against my teacher, who has inspired so much from me this year already.  “What’s the point of being angry?” I thought. “Why can’t you just, Let it Go?” Unlike my other group members who were being very bitter, still, I enjoyed the Brawl yesterday, listening to everyone’s different perspectives and opinions about the book.

photo
The Final Brawl in English, featuring Mr. Theriault and some classmates

In The Count of Monte Cristo, Dante’s ultimate point of wisdom is the point where he let go his anger and fustration.  I believe that he would’ve gone to live a normal life again, because all that avenge and the dark feelings that were running through his veins were gone.

I’m going to end this post with a cover of “Let it Go” on the piano that I’m currently learning, because it is there where I thought to write this post.

-Kristie xx

Mr. Theriault, I’m not mad at you anymore and I’d like to thank you for inspiring me to write this post.

 

2 thoughts on “RE:Framed: Let It Go!”

    1. Thank you Mr. Theriault! I’d have to say though, I think I’m going to miss you even more next year because you, (unlike some teachers who I won’t name) really get us as students.

Leave a Reply

