Clean, Gluten Free Strawberry Pancakes

It took me forever to perfect this pancake recipe.  I’ve been searching for a clean pancake recipe everywhere.  The recipes were definitely out the box and ridiculous, and some of them didn’t even turn out to be pancakes at all.  I’ve tried Blogilates’ 2 Ingredient Pancake Recipe, I’ve tried One Ingredient Chef’s Pancakes.  But, none of them cut it for me. I  wanted a clean pancakes, without any of the flour and such, and no banana.

You see, in the clean and gluten-free eating world, a lot of sweets have eggs omitted from them.  And the replacement?  Bananas, which is totally fine.  But, bananas always overcook and they never create the right texture inside a pancake.  A lot of clean pancake recipes turned out rubbery, and flat.  I wanted a pancake that was fluffy, and packed with nutrients.  Sure I could turn back to my good ol’ silverdollar recipe, but this is clean eating we’re looking at here!

Now if you’re wondering what clean eating is, relax.  It’s quite simple, despite the name.  All you’re doing is cleaning your diet when you clean eat, so lean meats and veggies, whole grains and carbs, and no processed foods!  I try to eat clean 5/7 days of the week.  And sometimes on those 5/7 days, I crave pancakes, especially over the weekend.

The almond flour in these pancakes gives a slightly sweet and nutty flavor.  Also, it gives them an extra boost of protein!  Using strawberry flavored Chobani, these pancakes are just swimming in tart strawberry notes that offset the initial sweetness of the pancakes themselves.   The secret to the ultrafluffiness in these pancakes?  The whisked egg whites.  Because the egg whites are whisked, they add tons of volume to the pancake batter.  Which in the end, yields amazing pancakes.

I wanted to find a pancake that had the right texture of a true pancake, fluffy, and packed with nutrients.  And, I think I’ve found the holy grail of clean pancakes!  They’re unbelievably fluffy, with crisp edges, that melt in your mouth feeling of pancake heaven.  You won’t even know you’re eating 100% healthy.

Ingredients:

For 2 servings of silverdollar pancake stacks

  • 3/4 cup of almond flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1 6 oz container of strawberry Greek Yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla

Directions

1.  Whisk together the almond flour, baking soda, and a pinch of salt in a medium bowl, set aside.
DSCN37972.  Separate the eggs if you haven’t done so already.  In another bowl, stir together Greek Yogurt, egg yolks, and vanilla until there are no lumps remaining. DSCN3806 DSCN3804

3. Pour the Greek Yogurt and egg mixture into the dry ingredients.  Stir until fully combined.DSCN3807 DSCN3808 DSCN3809 DSCN3810

4.  Using a small wire whisk, (or a fork, if you’re lazy to wash the wire whisk like me), beat the egg whites until white and foamy, about 3-4 minutes.)DSCN3812 DSCN3813 DSCN3814
5.  Fold the egg whites into the pancake batter.  As you can see, the pancake batter is quite thick, almost like cake batter.  But, no worries, the thickness is what gives the pancakes their fluffiness.  If you would like, feel free to thin out the batter by adding small amount of Almond milk.  The pancakes will spread out more on the pan, but nonetheless, they will still be just as delicious!

DSCN38156.  Spray a skillet with some cooking spray.  Using a ladle, spoon equal amount of pancake batter onto the pan.  You’ll know when to flip when bubbles start to appear on the surface of the pancake!  This is when the baking soda has started to fully react, making fluffy pancakes.  You don’t want to flip the pancakes too early and stop the fluffing process. Also, it’s a good indicator when the bottom of the pancake has reached a nice, golden color.

DSCN3816 DSCN3819 DSCN3828DSCN3823

And that’s it!  These pancakes are super easy and quick to make.  And, the best part is?  They’re super clean, healthy and nutritious for you.  They’re a great way to start off a busy morning.  I love making these for brunch on Sunday mornings.  You can change the flavor of these pancakes by changing the Greek Yogurt flavor, get creative!  I topped my pancakes with some whipped cream and strawberries.  And for a little extra sweetness, I added a squirt of honey.DSCN3832DSCN3831

 

Look how fluffy and cute these are!  I can’t seem to stop saying fluffy in this post…DSCN3839 1

 

Honey and strawberries on pancakes?  Yum!

DSCN3843 1

Look at that fluffiness inside the pancakes.  This tall stack kept me full all the way past noontime.

I hope you guys are enjoying these breakfast recipes that I’m posting up. Sometimes, I don’t have time to bake every single week to post a tutorial, but I do make breakfast often!  I’m thinking of doing healthier recipes as everyone is trying to get into shape this year.  I know that I do, and I converted to clean eating last year.
Please leave a comment on what you’d like to see!

As always, Happy Baking!
Or in this case, pancake flipping…

-Kristie xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Clean, Gluten Free Strawberry Pancakes”

Leave a Reply

