RE:Framed: The Angry Baker

I came into English class on Monday slightly nervous, because my teacher mentioned a reading check quiz, and like all high schoolers at times, I forgot to finish the section.  But like I said before, my English teacher is not the conventional, stereotypical, super old and boring teacher.  I mean, if he was, then why would I be running this blog? Well, besides the fact that I love baking…

As per normal quiz procedures, my class was prompted to clear our desks, take out papers, pens, etc.  However, once my teacher began to read the quiz questions aloud, I realized that contrary to my fears, this was not a normal reading check quiz.

Question 1:  What makes you angry about your family?

Question 2:  What makes you angry about school?

Question 3:  What makes you angry about yourself?

I had plenty to say about the final question, because as humans, we naturally look down upon ourselves the most.  After my class finished the quiz, most of my classmates were quite confused about the purpose of the quiz.  However, it seems as though they disregarded what my teacher said at the beginning of class:

“Anger fuels change” – David Theriault

And if you think about it, it’s completely true.  People don’t think to change the world or create something that would benefit the majority if there wasn’t a problem to begin with.

In the book we are currently reading, the Count of Monte Cristo, the Count himself is being fueled by anger.  Without anger, he is not able to form into the facade of almost 4 completely different characters.  With anger, he is a hollow shell of the person he used to be, the exact opposite.  With anger, the Count has managed to block out all love and happiness, and instead replace those emotions with vengeance and anger.

“Forgive me for an emotion which must be surprising to you.. but for me it’s such a rare experience to see satisfaction in a human face.” (Dumas, Pg. 218)

After the count makes this remark, he rushes away quickly, as exposing himself to those happy emotions will spark a crack in his iron mask.  Anger has masked the naive, selfless person he was.

They say anger is the most powerful emotion.  I mean, why isn’t it?  Anger drives revenge, it drives change, it drives people to be better.  When a person is frustrated or upset at something, and they’re smart enough to realize that they can change it, the change will be beautiful.

For me, when I’m angry, I usually smash my piano keys, or I bake.

You see, angry baking creates enticing things.  It’s soothing, I feel like I’m in control, and it’s wonderful.  And plus, food is comfort.  And, when I’m frustrated, it’s usually when I feel like things are getting out of hand.  But with baking, I dictate everything that happens.

 

Speaking of piano, it’s a great stress soother.  Playing music and hearing it and moving along to the beat, there’s nothing that beats that feeling.  Unless you’ve baked a no-hollow, high feet, and beautiful macaron, then that’s a different story.

As a result of my piano playing… One day my piano might look like this….

But, nonetheless, though it’s important to keep your cool while baking as well.  Before you know it, you could’ve accidentally dropped the eggs into the flour instead of into butter, or taken pans out of an oven with bare hands!

 

Today’s post is a little food for your thought.  What do you guys do when you’re angry?

As always,

Happy Baking!

-Kristie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

