RE:Framed: Countless Baking Fails

For the first time this school year, I’m genuinely enjoying the book I’m reading in my English class:  The Count of Monte Cristo.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Alexander Dumas’ genius, it’s a book about pure revenge.  The count, or Dantes, as he is referred to, has been betrayed by his enemies and is throne into the horrible prison of Chateau d’lf for life.  Basically, that’s the gist of where I am in the novel right now, I don’t want to give away too much.  The book right now is full of exciting twists and turns and new characters.  It’s like Pretty Little Liars, except… in English form?

My favorite TV show

Right now, Dantes is making a miraculous escape from the horrible prison.  After almost 14 years of misery, he finds a prison comrade, Priest Faria.  Dantes and Faria manage to dig their way through the prison.  Eventually, Faria passes, and Dantes manages to figure out another way to escape prison.  Crazy huh?  I was just in awe how Dantes never seemed to give up.  He almost did, on numerous occasions, (ie:  Suicide, madness), but as of right now, he’s reached his goal and escaped prison!  Dantes embodies so much perseverance.

Perseverance is all in the brain.  Believe it or not, you always have more potential then what you think you can do.

DSCN4646
If it isn’t obvious, the cupcakes are sunken with holes underneath the cupcakes

Like I’ve said before, I was a horrible baker when I first started.  When I offered to bake 3 dozen cupcakes for my class at the end of the year in 8th grade, I burnt the bottoms and basically liquefied my frosting.  I’ve dealt with “hole-y” cupcakes and I’ve brought them to school with pride.  People have said not-so-nice things about the goods I try so hard to bake.  I could’ve easily given up.  And trust me, I have thought of that many times.  It took me about 9 tries to perfect my macarons.  DSCN2822They’re not easy, trust me.  The first time I baked them, I burnt all of them into a crunchy macaron mess.  And I almost gave up after that.  In fact, I didn’t bake macarons again for almost an entire year.  No matter how many ingredients I waste, how many electricity bills I rack up, I promised myself to never give up on baking.  I’ve never truly given up on a recipe before.  Like cream cheese frosting, I’m still on my quest to find the perfect consistency frosting that’s not too sweet, yet still tart, and holds when piped in pretty swirls.

The only time I ever perfected cream cheese frosting
The only time I ever perfected cream cheese frosting

 I’ve messed up tons, yes, but I haven’t given up and I’m not.  Like Dantes, maybe it will take another 14 years for me to perfect a Vanilla Cupcake recipe.  But I’m not giving up, so neither should you!

DSCN0157 1

To all my readers of this blog, please promise me to never give up on baking.  Baking is a journey, it’s different from everyone.  Tons of factors go into play so nothing will ever turn right 100% of the time! Take an oath with me right now, to never give up on baking.  Raise your right hand, and say it with me, “I won’t ever give up on baking.”

I wanted this post to be sort of motivational and sort of another glimpse onto how I started baking and my baking story and such.

I hope you guys have a Happy Tuesday!

-Kristie

2 thoughts on “RE:Framed: Countless Baking Fails”

Leave a Reply

