RE:Framed: My (Baking) Comrades

Ever since I found out about the sweet world of baking, it’s like a night light shined in my life.  I found that the most frustrating thing about life itself is that I have practically no control over anything.  But with baking,  am finally in control of what goes in and out and I can dictate exactly what I want to happen.  I feel at ease when I bake, and more importantly, I feel myself and calm.

“They are more to me than life, these voices, they are more than motherliness and more than fear; they are the strongest, most comforting thing there is anywhere: they are the voices of my comrades.” -Paul Baumer, All Quiet on the Western Front

We recently finished this amazing book in English class.  I’ve always known that war was romanticized, but never before have I seen it portrayed in the manner like it was in the book.  One of the most important themes of that book is comradeship.  Because this is a baking blog, I’d like to shine a bit of light on my own baking comrades.

My best comrade, the one I rely on the most, will have to be my beloved stand mixer. 

I first got my stand mixer when I was 13 years old for my birthday.  It’s the best gift I’ve ever gotten from my parents, and it’s the one I’ve consistently begged and pleaded for the most.  I can’t imagine life without this stand mixer.  It’s simply more powerful and efficient than a hand mixer.  And also, you don’t have to be manually standing, moving the mixer around and around while you bake.  I can easily add ingredients to the stand mixer, or do other prep work while my mixer beats the eggs or something.  In my house, the whirring sound of the stand mixer always is in the background of other traditional family noise.  I’d say the mixer is like part of the family now.

Another comrade of mine are my piping tips.  I find that piping tips are my ‘paintbrush’  I use piping bags and tips in almost every time I bake.  Of course, I usually am a cupcake and cake aficionado, but I do have to pipe macarons and designs on cookies.  I’d say my favorite piping tip is the Wilton 2D, as shown in the picture below.

This tip is a large, closed start tip.  I find that the most beautiful swirls and roses I create on cupcakes are from this tip.  And I can’t live without my couplers.  It makes changing out tips from a bag full of frosting an ease, so you don’t have to dump all the frosting out, dig your hand through your piping bag, and pull out the piping tip.

And one of my most important baking comrade would have to be my cupcake tin.

I love, love, love, baking cupcakes.  In fact, they’re the first thing I’ve baked.  I really started getting into baking when my Mom bought me 2 cupcake tins and some piping tips for Valentine’s Day my 8th grade year.  I saw so many other girls bake cupcakes, so I thought, why not?  And also, in a cupcake pan, you can make so many other things as well.  Like muffins, brownies, cheesecake, the possibilities are endless.

I can’t live without any of these tools, I think they define me as a baker.  They’re my closest friends, my comrades.  Unlike real people, I find that my stand mixer doesn’t stab me in the back or spread rumors.  Just kidding.  Although, really, I think they fit the bill as one of my best friends, baking wise of course.

Leave a Reply

