RE:Framed: The ‘Secret’ Recipe

“When I enter a great city by night, that every one of those darkly clustered houses encloses its own secret; that every room in every one of them encloses its own secret; that every beating heart in the hundreds of thousands of breasts there is, in something of its imaginings, a secret to the heart nearest it!”  – Charles Dickens, A Tale of 2 Cities

DSCN9744
My ultimate chocolate cupcake recipe, in miniature form

Every baker has their own-sworn-to-secrecy “best ever _____” recipe.  I think that as bakers, each and every one of our recipes is what makes us distinct from everyone else.  I mean, if Sprinkles Cupcakes, Georgetown Cupcakes, Magnolia Bakery all had the same recipe, what’s the point of having their own bakery?

To a baker, their own recipe is what gives them identity.  It’s what makes us unique.  I guarantee you that no one in this world has my exact recipes.  None.  And, trust me, the recipes that I post on this site are my recipes, 100%.  However, they’re a blank canvas.  They’re meant to be tampered with, they’re meant to be modified.  You could use it just as it is – that’s great!  But, in my opinion, the recipes you find online should be changed and should be experimented with until you are completely satisfied with your results.  It’s like a base recipe, essentially.

I’m sure in your family, there is that one recipe that has been passed down from generation to generation.  Maybe that’s what makes your family famous in your neighborhood.

I encourage all of you to go out there and make your own recipes!  It doesn’t hurt if you never even try.  The best part is, once you hit that high note of baking ultimatum, you’ll feel so proud about your own recipe making it there.

2 thoughts on “RE:Framed: The ‘Secret’ Recipe”

  1. I will have to give you a cupcake the next time I make some! I use a recipe off of the food network but not a lot of people know about it. (shhhh) I’ve been told that they’re better than sprinkles cupcakes!. Don’t forget to smile! 🙂

    1. I’m smiling because of your wonderful comment! PLEASE GIVE ME A CUPCAKE I LOVE EATING CUPCAKES MORE THAN BAKING THEM! 😀

Leave a Reply

