RE:Framed: Guru of Baking

I’ve been so fortunate to be able to watch the basketball documentary “Guru of Go.”  At first, when I was introduced to the film, I merely snorted and thought “Basketball?  Please, I’d rather dribble flour bags.”  But, as the minutes ticked by I found myself drawn into the story of Paul Westhead, and Hank Mathers.

“Guru of Go” is a documentary about a legendary basketball player,  Hank Gathers.  Hank is a very special basketball player.  He was one of the few who were successful in Paul Westhead’s system.  The system is brutal:  Pure sprinting in a full 2 hour basketball game.  Hank pushed through to the limit. He never stopped until he died, literally.  When Hank’s irregular heartbeat medicine slowed him down, he stopped taking the medicine, which would lead him to his death.

This has made me think to myself, how strong is my willpower?  Will I be risking my life just to do something I love?  Of course.  “Do what you love, and love what you do,” is what they say.  The difference between those who just want to be successful, and those who need to be successful, is that one would stop breathing to be successful.  That’s how badly I want it.  That’s how badly I want to have a bakery when I’m older.  That’s how badly I’m willing to sacrifice countless hours of homework time, sleep, and my life searching up recipes, reading baking blogs, watching shows.  I’m willing to sacrifice probably hundreds of dollars now buying expensive ingredients.

Some people will just stop when they can’t do something.  Baking isn’t hard.  It’s not hard at all.  All you need to do is follow a recipe.  But why are there so little bakers in this world?  It’s because those who try at first find a recipe that’s not suitable enough, and they end up failing, and they give up. The first cupcakes I’ve ever made are a joke.  They had butter chunks in the frosting, the cake was as heavy as a rock, and I even colored the cupcakes green.  I had people telling me I couldn’t bake and my cupcakes tasted like &%*$ even after that first attempt.  But that didn’t stop me, not at all. It took me over a year to develop my perfect chocolate cake recipe, and even longer just to bake the perfect vanilla cupcake.

Remember, you can’t rush perfection.  So even if your cookies, your cheesecake, or your brownies turn out looking like Godzilla chewed them up and threw it back out his mouth, it’s fine.  It’s not like there’s only 2 cups of flour in this world.  Just try again tomorrow.  The next day is inevitable, and you should seize every opportunity you have.

DSCN4646
The first cupcakes I ever brought to class in 8th grade
Let’s just say they didn’t make the best impresssion
2 thoughts on “RE:Framed: Guru of Baking”

  1. I totally agree with you about never giving up. I mean even when I bake something and it goes wrong, I feel do depressed. I find this post of yours inspirational and the pic of first cupcakes you made in 8th grade looks good. Keep baking Kristie!!!

Leave a Reply

