Penguin Suit Elegance

A baker bakes their own birthday cake.  End of story.

Last Saturday I celebrated my birthday with my cousin and aunt because, well, we’re a tri-birthday sort of family.  I mean, I share the same birthday with my aunt and my cousin’s birthday is only 3 days after ours.

I decided to get a little bit more elegant and mature with my style of cake decorating, instead of the usual pink and speckled cakes I usually do.  So after hours (literally) of searching up designs and ideas on Pintrest and many more, I was inspired to do a ganache dripped cake.

DSCN1313

What is ganache you ask?  Well, it’s a molten chocolate sauce made from mixing chocolate and hot cream together.  It’s so versatile.  You’ve probably eaten it before, you just didn’t know what it was! Ganache thickens as it cools, so bakers use it to cover numerous surfaces.  Cooled ganache can even be whipped into a decadent chocolate frosting.

The ganache resembles a waterfall that’s pouring over the sides and the crevices of your cake.  And with a complementing color, such as white or maybe a royal blue, a dark chocolate ganache is just the perfect topping.  Plus, you don’t have the make as much frosting because you’re already covering the face of the cake with ganache.

So about 5 cups of flour, 3 cups of sugar, 6 eggs, about 6 cups of frosting, and 2 cups of chocolate ganache later, I had baked and decorated a marvelous cake.  I was so lazy to separate my cake layers into 8X1 inch pans, so I simply poured it into a large 9 inch pan.

The inside is Red Velvet Cake and Vanilla Cake, with a vanilla filling.  On the outside, it’s a Vanilla Buttercream with dark Chocolate Ganache poured on top.

DSCN1293 DSCN1292 DSCN1296  DSCN1295

Neat, huh?

(Yes the red velvet cake is sunken because I opened the oven door and let out the heat waaay too early)

You can get extremely impressive results with a poured ganache method.  Did I mention it’s so incredibly easy?  All you need is your ganache and a spoon and you’re good to go!

I made my ganache in the microwave, as my kitchen was  a bit preoccupied that day.

Today’s post isn’t a tutorial, but merely just a short blog post about the cake that I wanted to share with you all!

I included a recipe for chocolate ganache below.  I eyeball my ingredients whenever I make ganache; however when I come across an exact recipe that works I’ll be sure to post a tutorial.

Happy Baking!

Ingredients:

  • 2 parts dark chocolate chips, or baker’s chocolate
  • 1 part chocolate
  1. Place your chocolate in a microwave safe bowl, or measuring cup first.  Then, pour heavy whipping cream on top.  In order to make ganache in the microwave, you must have enough whipping cream to cover the top of your chocolate, or else it will burn.
  2. On 50% heat, microwave your whipping cream and chocolate chip mixture for 3 minutes.
  3. After 3 minutes, stir.  Be careful to stir gently, or else you will ruin the ganache.
  4. On 100% heat, microwave your whipping cream and chocolate chip mixture for another 30 seconds.
  5. After 30 seconds, stir gently until no more lumps remain.  The stirring part is crucial because just like cake batter, once the ganache is overmixed, it’s ruined.

To pour ganache over your cake, first let your chocolate mixture cool.  Don’t let it cool completely, or it will be too thick to work with.  Make sure your cake is frosted and cold!  When the chocolate is cool, in a circular motion, pour the chocolate onto the top of your cake.  Using the back of a spoon, spread the chocolate to the sides of your cake.  Depending on how large your cake is, you might need to pour a bit more in order to get the chocolate to the edges of your cake.  Although, less is more! Once your chocolate has reached the edge of your cake, pour a bit more in the center.  Using the spoon, again, in a circular motion, spread out the chocolate.  You will see that some chocolate is beginning to fall beautifully off your cake.  Don’t try to hard to get the drips correct.  They are drips, and they fall naturally with gravity.

I promise you that ganache dripping your cake will absolutely astonish your guests at your next dinner or birthday party.  Their jaws will drop.  The dark, almost black color of the chocolate contrasts with the pale, but certainly bright color of the vanilla buttercream.  This is a great technique that is impressive and easy to master!

Good luck, and happy baking everyone!

-Kristie

DSCN13101
Notice that it’s the new header image?

2 thoughts on “Penguin Suit Elegance”

  1. Your cake looks great and I bet it tasted so too! I can definitely see your passion for baking and I think that’s just wonderful. 🙂 I’m not a great baker, but I found a flawless recipe for pumpkin ginger cupcakes (more like muffins) that I could share if you’re interested. It never fails me, and like I’ve said before, I’m not the best baker, so it definitely has to work for you!
    -Dorothy
    PS.happy belated birthday!

    1. Hi Dorothy! If you’d like, I can feature you on my blog or you can show me the recipe tomorrow! I love anything that has to do with pumpkin, like Pumpkin Zucchini Bread, Pumpkin Pie, and of course, Pumpkin Spice lattes. Thanks for the birthday wish!

Leave a Reply

