A Potterhead’s Main Source of Sugar: Harry Potter Cupcakes

Photo by Kristie Hoang Leica
Harry Potter adorned Red Velvet Cupcakes

My idea of a perfect date is a Harry Potter marathon with cupcakes as the main snack.  I’m a Potterhead, a muggle born wizard to be exact.  I was introduced into the series about 5 years ago, when I was in the 5th grade.  Have you guys ever heard anyone say they were happy to get sick?  Well, to think of it, I am happy that I was sick in the 5th grade.  Now, it wasn’t anything that was serious.  It was just a mere cold.  But, being asthmatic and immune-ly deficient, I was hooked onto a Predisolone breathing machine for about 3 nights.  And one of those nights, my litter sister gave me a book to cure my boredom of absent mindly laying in bed with medicine.  “It’s so good!” She insisted.  Did I mention I used to hate Harry Potter back then?  I thought it was scary and boring.  I was so reluctant to read it.  Eventually though, I gave in.  (Thank the lord)  And from that moment when I read “Mr. and Mrs. Dursely of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much,” I was hooked.  Whisked into the world of magic and mystery.  From then on, I was obsessed.

I didn’t realize it back then, but as we get older and we start to write book reports that talk about theme, I realized that Harry Potter isn’t just a little children’s book about witches and wizardry.  Heck no.  And I know everyone says this, but bear with me. ) I have yet to state it in a formal blog post so I have every write to do so)  Harry Potter is not just a book!  It’s real.  It’s real for us.  Harry Potter has taught me so much about humanity, love, and friendship.  You know, if everyone in this world was a little bit like Harry, just a tiny bit, we would have gotten rid of so many wars and social problems.  Harry James Potter has the ability to love, and frankly, for some people, they can’t do that.  And this ability puts him above all evil.  Evil in Harry Potter is truly evil.  And probably the most evil wizard of all time is Lord Voldemort, or Tom Riddle.  Now, Tom Riddle is without a question a trillion times more powerful than Harry.  But the fact that Harry can love, and that Harry will put himself in danger to save everyone (even Draco Malfoy) sets him apart from Voldemort.  His humanity, the fact that he says “I’m ready to die” for the wizarding world speaks volumes.  If our society was as compassionate and selfless as Harry, man, this world would have no problems.

Hermione Jean Granger.  She is one interesting character that’s for sure. But Hermione?  Hermione is the person I want to be.  I’ve dressed up as Hermione every year for Halloween since I was in the 7th grade.   I’ve got the wand, robe, uniform, the full get up.  Why is Hermione so special you ask?  Well, for one, Hermione is not beautiful.  She’s not.  (And for deard Lord’s sake, don’t argue that Emma Watson is hot.  We all know she is but she merely portrays Hermione, she isn’t Hermione herself)  Hermione is an awkward nerd.  She’s got a big mouth, with paticuarly large teeth.  She has large, poofy brown hair and brown eyes.  There’s no mention in the book of Hermione growing up to be some amazingly attractive girl.  She was just Hermione. Pretty, but not pretty enough to be noticed.  She was noticed, however, for her brains.  Hermione is a genius.  I wish I had the motivation and drive to study like Hermione.  Hermione is such an excellent role model for young girls because she teaches us that we don’t need to be pretty or curvy to be special.  We can have brains.  We can be smart, and we can roll along with the guys like she does.  I feel like in our world, there is so much media that has some really degrading images of girls and it really sets some people’s self esteem down.  Girls should just remember to be like Hermione.  Because beauty can take you so far.  But if you have brains, than that’s the most beautiful part about you.

Now back to baking…

So these cupcakes are my famous red velvet cupcakes with a sweet cream cheese frosting.  I topped them off with a Wilton Dark Chocolate Candy Melt that I (attempted) to pipe a Harry Potter logo and Deathly Hallows Symbol.  I’ve got to say though, I was quite impressed with the results.  You see, because of the thickness of the chocolate, it’s very hard to pipe a fine line and things with a lot of detail.  However, these make a beautiful decoration for some tasty cupcakes, and I wouldn’t be more pleased.  I’ll make a tutorial on how to use and work with candy melts and some designs.  A recipe for my Red Velvet Cupcakes is coming up soon!

If you guys have anything you would like to request, please comment below!

Leave a Reply

